Governor D

Whatever you do, don’t lose that speachwriter. Your GOP rebuttal was, without a doubt, the most relavent, poigniant, accurate, and inspiring speech that I had heard in a long time. I keep listening to the GOP “debates” and end up increasingly disappointed with the options that seem to be automatically being generated. No less so than I was in ’08 when the machine kicked out John McCain as a candidate.

I believe that I may be representative of the disaffected Republican citizens that have become so tired of politics as usual and the continual compromised positions that have been taken by the GOP that have resulted in the liberal/progressives being able to attain the devastation of our country that is going on today. I have been left with a candidate of Ron Paul as a marginal option that is the closest to a little “r”, original “r” republican in the running, and still he provides neither the dynamicism nor edge that we need to sway the majority of the country to his direction. I fear he is too old to to be able to carry the weight of the job even if elected.

After you spoke, I was ready to drop my life and follow, to take a leave of absense from work and go and support (if there were an option to have) a candidate that would articulate these positions that you stated so clearly. I cannot tell you how disappointing it has been for the last 20 years to have the Republican party not be able to stand for and behind the positions that you spoke of. I have not lost faith in my country or the republican ideals and am still waiting for a candidate worthy of both. If you believe in that which you spoke of, then you may be that man.

About drrik

3rd career and 2nd childhood. Spends spare time repairing old things. Aspires to burn more gasoline, gunpowder, and ink in pursuit of slowing down. Child of the 60s and aspiring student of history. No desire to see us repeat the failed social experiments that keep failing for lack of human beings that meet the left wing standards and have to be killed off. Did engineering long enough to realize that very little is new and the wheel does not need to be reinvented.
This entry was posted in economy, election, mainstream media and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Governor D

  1. Mrs. AL says:

    Great read here, Drrik. Seems to be a trend given Daniels’ address. Too bad he isn’t in the running. You mentioned “I was ready to drop my life and follow, to take a leave of absense from work and go and support (if there were an option to have) a candidate that would articulate these positions that you stated so clearly.” Have you thought about seeking public office? Your posts are pithy, to the point and leave zero room about where you stand. Sort of like Daniels’ address, I would say.

    Just a small thing … I think you meant “speechwriter” in the first sentence.

  2. drrik says:

    Got to figure out how to do spellcheck on this thing,
    Thanks for the vote of confidence. Now with the other 4 folks that are following my ramblings, I shoudl have a great basis for a constituency.

    • Mrs. AL says:

      5 dedicated people can accomplish a great deal, Drrik. No, I’m not doing the philosophical thing, but am keenly aware of how very small groups can affect very large changes.

Leave a Reply

